April 2022 Newsletter

April 2022 Newsletter Image

From The Certified Elder Law Attorney's Desk:

William W. “Bill” Erhart

What is the Five-Star Quality Rating System?

The Five-Star Quality Rating System was created in 2008 by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (“CMS”). The website became popular for people looking for a quick summary of a nursing home’s alleged quality of care. CMS posted ratings on the Medicare.gov website. A Five-Star rating is the highest.


While helpful in a general sense, the rating system is far from accurate. A New York Times investigation revealed a number of deficiencies. Consider how the system operates...

Continue to read